Senators Elect, 9th Assembly as it Stands.

By OMA | 01-03-2019 | Politics |  

Surprise New Entries and Shock Old Exits.


2019 Presidential and National Assembly elections have come and gone but not without its peculiarities.

It is mind boggling to know a whooping 64 Senators and 151 members of the House of Assembly would not be resuming in June when the 9th Assembly would be inaugurated.

Owing to a lot of pre-elections, elections and post election factors, only 45 Senators and 209 members thereabout will return to the National Assembly from the 8th Assembly.

Pre-Elections, 42 of the 64 non returning Senators failed to secure their party Primaries ticket.

15 of the Newly elected senators are fomer state Governors while it is reported 22 Senators of the 8th Assembly of lost at the just concluded National Assembly Elections.

So far as they stand, APC Has 64 Senators while the PDP has only 41. It is of note worthy that the YPP has gotten 1 senator elect....

Electoral Suprises sprung with News filtering in that The Senate President, Sen Abubakar Bukola Saraki lost his seat to Ibrahim Yahaya oloriegbe going by the massive reach of the "o to ge" Movement in Ilorin Kwara State.

Another shock senate Exit is the one time senate Minority leader and former Governor. Senator Godswill Akpabio.

George Akume was another one of such senators who would not be resuming the 9th Senate...

Others shocked and refused entry to the 9th senate are Governor of Oyo State Abiola Ajimobi and Governor Dankwambo from Gombe State whom both lost at their attempt to secure membership of the 9th Assembly.